Go back to news listing

Meet the New Council

The new Council for the Rural Municipality of West River kicks off their new term on Thursday, December 8. The Council will be sworn in at 7:00 p.m. at Afton Community Centre. Everyone is welcome to come and meet their representatives for the next four years.

  • Mayor - Helen Smith-MacPhail
    • Councillor Aaron MacEachern      Ward #1 (Ringwood - Maqtewe'k Jipu'jij)         
    • Councillor Ryan Roggeveen         Ward #2 (Straitview - Kwitney Walney)
    • Councillor John Yeo                        Ward #3 (Eliot River - Ji'ka'we'katik)         
    • Councillor Lillian MacCannell       Ward #4 (Southside - Pita'q Jipu'jij)
    • Councillor Shaun MacArthur        Ward #5 (Strathgartney -Maqtewe'k Kwesawei)   
    • Councillor Steve Pollard                Ward #6 (The Hill - Unikansuk)