

TERMS OF REFERENCE - AMALGAMATION WEST RIVER GROUP

The terms below describe an informal association by the communities of Afton, Bonshaw, Meadow Bank, New Haven-Riverdale, and West River for a number of purposes related to planning for municipal development. This Committee began from a need to commission a formal growth study, but with the completion of the West River Municipal Growth Management Study, the formal amalgamation process is the next step. Our commitment is to work together for as long as there is merit in doing so.

Our main goal is to prepare the documentation required to proceed to amalgamation.

Areas for discussion and input include:

- Our rationale for amalgamation: rural character of the community, financial management in the form of minimizing tax increases required to comply with the new Municipal Governance Act;
- Inventorying the existing and contemplated assets and projects of each community;
- Recommendations for the ongoing management of amalgamated community assets;
- Identifying and making recommendations to our individual rural communities on the best approach to comply with the regulations associated with the Municipal Governance Act;
- Maintaining a list of challenges as they arise which could include identifying how communities are represented or the possible establishment of ward systems within an amalgamated West River Group;
- Prepare proposal to Minister and IRAC for amalgamation;
- A Draft proposal to be circulated to all five councils for comments and approval prior to submission;
- Acceptance of amalgamation proposal by five individual communities;
- Preparation and submission of letter of intent to the Minister of Governmental Affairs;
- Submission of amalgamation proposal to IRAC;
- Preparing and implementing an ongoing communication strategy to communicate to the public and each council.

WEST RIVER GROUP MEMBERSHIP

Membership within the group is comprised of up to 2 representatives of each of the Rural Municipalities of Afton, Bonshaw, Meadow Bank, New Haven-Riverdale and West River. Member rural municipalities agree to maintain membership and participation within the West River Group until amalgamation of the five communities has been completed.

WEST RIVER GROUP STRUCTURE/ORGANIZATION

The West River Communities Group will include members of council from each municipality. Each municipality selects their representatives decides who their representatives will be but are expected to ensure that there are 2 representatives selected and that there will be consistent representation of their municipality at meetings for the duration of the management study and the presentation of final report to the five communities.

Each rural community will be represented by up to 2 representatives but at meetings, there will only be one vote per community. Decision-making by the group will be attempted through consensus but if consensus is not possible, a simple majority will make decisions.

The quorum for the West River Group will consist of a representative of each of the five rural municipalities.

Other appropriate guests (non-voting) will be invited to attend meetings when required.

The Chair of the West River Group will be selected from within the group. The Chair will take the lead in calling meetings, setting the agenda and facilitating the discussion of agenda items. The Chair will act as spokesperson on behalf of the West River Group. As backup and for continuity, a Vice-Chair will be selected from the group.

The members of the West River Group will hold a minimum of one meeting per month, however, it is anticipated that during the amalgamation process, the frequency may be higher than one meeting a month.

As part of the West River Group structure, a West River Group Project Coordinator will be hired on a contract basis. This is a non-voting position. The position duties are outlined below (input final job outline here).

WEST RIVER GROUP MEMBER ACCOUNTABILITY AND REPORTING RESPONSIBILITIES

The Rural Municipalities of Afton, Bonshaw, Meadow Bank, New Haven/Riverdale and West River Councils agree to remain members of the West River Group until completion of the Municipal Amalgamation of the five communities. Prior to submitting the final proposal to IRAC all five councils will have the opportunity for comments and approval.

Each of the Rural Municipalities of Afton, Bonshaw, Meadow Bank, New Haven/Riverdale and West River agree to send representatives to the West River Group and the rural communities further agree that their representatives will attend scheduled meetings, will inform the West River Group Chair if they are unable to attend a meeting and that their representatives will be responsible for reporting to their own municipal councils until the West River Group completes its work. Each rural municipality member will ensure that representatives attend the scheduled meetings of the West River Group and will ensure that their representatives agree to respect confidentiality when required.

Each of the five councils has committed its membership and responsibilities within the West River Group compilation by passing a resolution within Council and accepts responsibility for operating within the guidelines defined within the Terms of Reference outlined above.

The five municipalities will authorize the West River Group to provide updates to the public after each round of Council decisions regarding the amalgamation process.

