

Rural Municipality of West River Resolution

Title: Emergency Management Committee Appointment

Motion Carried	Motion No	2023-04
Motion Lost	Date	January 25, 2023
Motion Withdrawn	Council Meeting No	2023-01
Moved by Councillor John Yeo		
Seconded by Councillor Lillian MacCannell		

WHEREAS

Under Municipal Government Act Section (2) (e) (iii), it is the duty of the Council to appoint persons to committees of the Council, and

WHEREAS

According to MOTION#2023-02, the Council adopted to establish the Emergency Management Committee, and

WHEREAS

The standing Committee's structure must comply with the Municipal Emergency Management Program Bylaw (2021-06) Section (10.1), and

WHEREAS

Pursuant to Motion# 2021-47 and Motion# 2021-48, the Council appointed an emergency coordinator and a deputy emergency coordinator, and

WHEREAS

Following Municipal Government Act Section (90) (1), Mayor is a member of each Committee established under Motion#2023-02 with the right to vote per Municipal Government Act Section (90) (2), and

WHEREAS

Pursuant to Motion#2021-122, the Rural Municipality of West River's Emergency Plan was adopted by the Council after receiving approval from PEI EMO, the Department of Justice and Public Safety, and

WHEREAS

In case of a local or provincial emergency declaration, Municipality's Emergency Operations Centre Team should be assembled under Municipality's Emergency Plan,

BE IT RESOLVED

The Council of Rural Municipality of West River approves the following appointments.

- Emergency Management Committee:
 - Councillor Shaun MacArthur (Chair)
 - Mayor Helen Smith-MacPhail (Member)
 - Councillor Lillian MacCannell (Member)
- Emergency Operations Centre Team:
 - Mark MacFadyen (Municipal Emergency Coordinator)
 - Councillor Shaun MacArthur (Municipal Deputy Emergency Coordinator)
 - Mayor Helen Smith-MacPhail (Public Information and Communications)



- Chief Administrative Officer Laala Jahanshahloo (Finance and Administration)		
- Administrative Assistant Kelly Taylor (Social Services)		
- General Manager Eric MacArthur (Transportation)		
I certify that this is a true copy of the resolution.		
Helen Smith-MacPhail	Laala Jahanshahloo	
Mayor	Chief Administrative Officer	

- Councillor Lillian MacCannell (Human Resource)

