

Rural Municipality of West River

Resolution

Title: Planning Board Committee

Motion Carried	Motion No	2023-22
Motion Lost	Date	February 15, 2023
Motion Withdrawn	Council Meeting No	2023-02
Moved by Deputy Mayor Aaron MacEachern		
Seconded by Councillor Lillian MacCannell		

WHEREAS

According to Planning Act Section (9) (2), the Council of a municipality may appoint a Planning Board to prepare an official plan, and

WHEREAS

According to Planning Act Section (9) (4), a Planning Board shall consist of a chairperson who shall be a member of the Council; and not less than two other members who may be members of the Council and

WHEREAS

According to Planning Act Section (9) (5), members of a Planning Bard hold office until their successors are appointed, and

WHEREAS

According to Motion#2020-21, the Planning Board members were appointed according to the Planning Act Section (9), including Councillor Sharon Slauenwhite as Chair, Deputy Mayor Bob Clow, Councillor John Yeo, and

WHEREAS

The Municipality's Official Plan and Land use Bylaw final package has been submitted to the Department of Agriculture and Land to receive Ministerial approval, and

WHEREAS

Following Municipal Government Act Section (90) (1), the Mayor is a member of every committee that the council or mayor establishes under this or another Act, and

WHEREAS

Following Municipal Government Act Section (90) (2), when in attendance at a committee meeting, the mayor has the right to vote and shall be counted for the purpose of determining quorum, and

WHEREAS

The Municipality's Official Plan and Land use Bylaw final package has been submitted to the Department of Agriculture and Land to receive Ministerial approval, and



WHEREAS

This resolution bears the recommendation of the Committee of the Whole as discussed at a meeting held on February 2, 2023,

BE IT RESOLVED

The Council for the Rural Municipality of West River extends the term of the Planning Board appointed under Motion#2020-21 until the accomplishment of any outstanding or required tasks related to the completion of the Municipality's Official Plan and Land use Bylaw project subject to shuffling the structure of the Committee as follow:

- Mayor Helen Smith-MacPhail (Chair)
- Councillor John Yeo (Member)
- Sharon Slauenwhite (Member)
- Bob Clow (Member)

I certify that this is a true copy of the resolution.

