

Rural Municipality of West River Resolution

| Title: 2023 | Property | y Tax Rate |
|--------------------|----------|------------|
|--------------------|----------|------------|

| Motion Carried | Motion No | 2023-17 |
|-------------------------------------|--------------------|-------------------|
| Motion Lost | Date | February 15, 2023 |
| Motion Withdrawn | Council Meeting No | 2023-02 |
| Moved by Councillor Shaun MacArthur | | |
| Seconded by Councillor John Yeo | | |

WHEREAS

According to the Municipal Government Section (160) (1) (a), a Council shall, by resolution, after estimating the probable revenue from all sources other than taxes, approve a tax rate or rates applicable to all real property within the jurisdiction and boundaries of the municipality for the purpose of raising revenue sufficient to defray projected municipal expenditures for that year including any deficit carried forward from the previous year, and shall notify the Provincial Tax Commissioner in accordance with the Real Property Tax Act respecting the approved tax rate or rates, and

WHEREAS

The 2022 Non-Commercial properties tax rates for the former communities of Afton, Bonshaw, Meadowbank, and West River were \$0.16 per \$100 of assessment and \$0.19 per \$100 of assessment for the former community of New-Haven Riverdale, and

| ۱A | /1 | łF | n | _ | Λ | c |
|----|----|----|---|---|---|---|
| V١ | VГ | 16 | ĸ | г | н | |

The 2022 Commercial properties tax rates for the former communities of Afton, Bonshaw, Meadowbank, and West River were \$0.2425 per \$100 of assessment and \$0.2725 per \$100 of assessment for the former community of New-Haven Riverdale, and

WHEREAS

This resolution bears the recommendation of the Committee of the Whole as discussed at a meeting held on February 2, 2023,

BE IT RESOLVED

The Council for the Rural Municipality of West River approves keeping 2023 property tax rates the same as 2022 for both Commercial and Non-Commercial properties in the former communities in its boundaries.

| I certify that this is a true copy of the resolution | on. |
|--|------------------------------|
| Helen Smith-MacPhail | Laala Jahanshahloo |
| Mayor | Chief Administrative Officer |

